The controversy over who to ascend the Olubadan stool have been resolved as 10 of the 11 members of the Olubadan-in-council have endorsed Dr Lekan Balogun as the 42nd Olubadan of Ibadanland.

The immediate past Olubadan of Ibadan land, Oba Saliu Akanmu Adetunji who ascended the throne in March 2016, died in the early hours of Sunday.

The Osi Balogun of Ibadanland, High Chief Tajudeen Ajibola, made the disclosure during a news conference by the kingmakers on Wednesday in Ibadan.

Ajibola said the kingmakers have resolved that Dr Balogun should be next in line to occupy the throne of Olubadan in accordance with the tradition.

The Osi Balogun said the next Olubadan of Ibadan land had no health related issue, adding that the legal tussle over the ascension to the throne of Ibadanland would not stop the succession to the Olubadan throne.

The meeting, National update gathered was attended by members of the Olubadan-in-Council with the exception of a one time governor of Oyo state, Chief Rashidi Ladoja.

Other High Chiefs in attendance included Balogun Olubadan, Owolabi Olakulehin; Otun Balogun, Olufemi Olaifa; Ashipa Olubadan, Eddy Oyewole and Osi Balogun, Tajudeen Ajibola anong others.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *