The All Progressives Congress (APC) six chairmanship aspirants have succumbed to pressure as they have announced their decision to stepped down for the party’s annointed candidate Senator Abdullahi Adamu at the ongoing National Convention of the party at the Eagle Square Abuja.

Senator George Akume in a letter dated March 25, 2022 which was made available to the national update stated that the action was in line with President Muhammadu Buhari’s appeal for a consensus arrangement that would see the emergence of Senator Adamu as chairman.

Akume’s letter was addressed to the chairman of the APC Election Sub Committee, National Secretariat Abuja.

This comes as there was fracas at the  Eagle Square venue of the Convention. Thugs had  tried to take over the venue earlier in the day forcing security operatives at the venue  to resort to using teargas to disperse the thugs before normalcy was returned.

The letter from the minister of special duties stated that the aspirants have agreed to a consensus arrangement proposed by President Buhari ”wherein our colleague Senator Abdullahi Adamu is made our consensus candidate for the chairmanship position.”

Apart from the cover letter, Senator Akume also forwarded  six other letters of withdrawal, including his and those of his colleague contestants.

He, listed the ”aspirants to include,

H.E Senator Tanko Al-Makura

H.E Sen. George Akume

H.E Abdulaziz Yari

Sen. Sani Musa Muhammed

Comm. Etsu Muhammed

Turaki Salifu Mustapha”.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *