The candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP )Ademola Adeleke has won the Osun State governorship election as declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)
Adeleke polled 403,371 votes to defeat the incumbent Governor and Candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APac) Gboyega Oyetola who polled 375,027 votes.

The PDP candidate won 17 of the 30 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in the Osun State governorship election.

APC candidate Oyetola won in the remaining 13 LGAs, according to results announced by INEC on Sunday morning.

The collation and announcement of results were held at the INEC office in Osogbo, the state capital.
Adeleke, a former senator and younger brother to the state’s first governor, Isiaka Adeleke, defeated Oyetola, by a margin of about 44,426 votes.
13 other candidates that took part in the election includ|ed Akin Ogunbiyi of the Accord Party (AP), Goke Omigbodun of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and the former deputy speaker of the House of Representatives, Lasun Yusuf, who contested under the platform of Labour Party (LP)

Caretaker Chairman of the party in Osun state, Dr. Akindele Adekunle before the announcement declared that the party had secured a majority as well as more than two third spread across the 30 local governments and area offices.

PDP in a statement noted that the victory of the party at the poll is a product of mass mobilisation and grand coalition of people of Osun state against bad governance and insensitive leadership.

While thanking the people of Osun state for endorsing and affirming Ademola Adeleke’s governorship bid, the party sternly warns against any attempt to tamper with the result of the election.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.