The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has ordered the immediate shutdown of over 50 broadcast stations in Nigeria who have failed to renew their operating licences, leading to accumulated debts to the tune of N2.6b.

Director-General, NBC, Balarabe Ilelah, told newsmen on Friday, in Abuja,
that the licences of Silverbird TV, AIT, Raypower FM, and Rhythm FM and 50 others have been revoked following their inability to renew with the Commission.
The affected stations were given a 24-hour ultimatum to comply with the shutdown directive.
The DG also ordered the commission’s States offices to partner with security agencies to enforce the order.
He indicated that many more stations might be affected in the future, unless they renewed their broadcast licenses.
“This is the first batch, there are those who have not renewed their licence since 2015, 2016 and 2017. We are asking them to come and pay their licence fees.”

He explained that in May 2022, the commission published in the national dailies, the list of licensees that are indebted to NBC, granted them two weeks to renew their licenses and pay their debts or consider their licenses revoked and frequencies withdrawn.

According to him, “three months after the publication, some licensees are yet to pay their outstanding debts, in contravention of the NBC Act CAP N11, laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly section 10 (a) of the third schedule of the Act.,

“In view of this development, the continued operation of the debtor stations is illegal and constitutes a threat to national security.

“Therefore, after due consideration, the NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the under-listed stations and give them 24 hours to their operations,” he said.

The D-G listed other stations affected to include Zuma FM, Suleja, Niger State, Bomay Broadcasting Service, Kogi, Kwara, Niger, Gombe, Lagos, Osun, Ogun, Ondo and Rivers States Broadcasting Corporations and Stations.

He listed other stations to include; Katsina Broadcasting Corporation, Kaduna State Broadcasting Corporation, Jigawa Broadcasting Corporation, Kebbi State Broadcasting Corporation, Zamfara State Broadcasting Corporation and Yobe State Broadcasting Corporation.

Similarly, Ilelah said Imo State Broadcasting Corporation, Anambra State Broadcasting Corporation, Cross River State Broadcasting Corporation, Bayelsa State Broadcasting Corporation, Borno State Broadcasting Corporation and Crowther FM Abuja were among the affected stations.

He urged all broadcast stations who have not renewed their licenses for the current duration to do so within the next 30 days to avoid sanctions.

He also called on all Internet Protocol Television and all other broadcast stations that are streaming online to register with the commission to avoid disconnection

“Broadcasters should note that, having a DTT or FM license doesn’t warrant a broadcaster to stream online; they are two different licenses,” he said.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *