***recalls 4 suspended members

Kogi State House of Assembly has confirmed Justice Josiah Joe Majebi as the substantive Chief Judge of the state following his clearance by the National Judicial Commission (NJC) after six months in acting capacity.

Justice Majebi was appointed in June, 2022 by Governor Yahaya Bello following the retirement of Justice Richard O. Olorunfemi on attainment of the statutory age of 65.

The House confirmed Majebi’s appointment at plenary sitting on Tuesday in Lokoja following the adoption of a correspondence from Governor Yahaya Bello on the matter.

Speaker of the House, Prince Matthew Kolawole who read the governor’s letter said that Justice Majebi was cleared by the NJC as part of requirements for his confirmation, having acted in that capacity for six months.

The Nigerian Pilot reports that Justice Majebi will be inaugurated with His Excellency, Governor Yahaya Bello, administering the oaths on 1st February, 2023, at the Government House, Lokoja.

In same vein the House has lifted the suspension on four former principal officers who were suspended on June 17, 2022 over allegation of Gross Misconduct.

They include the Rt. Hon. Ahmed Mohammed, former Deputy Speaker; Hon. Abdullahi Bello-Hassan Balogun, former House Leader; Hon. Idris Ndako, Deputy Majority Leader and Hon. Moses Ododo, former Chief Whip.

The Speaker, Prince Matthew Kolawole who announced the lifting of suspension at plenary on Tuesday said that the lawmakers were recalled as part of efforts to foster peace and harmony among members.

He said that the decision was moreso as the Seventh Assembly in the state was gradually grinding to the end.

Ahmed Dahiru, Chief Whip and chairman of the House committee on Ethics and Privileges, said the suspended members showed considerable remorse for their actions and recommended that they should be recalled to perform legislative duties.

The House as well screened and confirmed a Commissioner nominee, Mr Samson Bako and approved second tenure for the chairman, secretary and members of the state Assembly Service Commission.

They included Alhaji Andas Momojimoh Malik, chairman; Com. Olorunmaiye Joanna Yemisi, Secretary; Meseko Durosimi, Bala Salisu, Arome Gabriel Adoji, Ananyi Shadrack Lamidi and Ahmed Musa Abdul, members.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *