The Institute of Strategic and Development Communications (ISDEVCOM), Nasarawa State University will play host to Development Communicators and industry experts who will converge at Keffi for its 4th International Conference to brain storm on how to harness data for national development.
The Governors of Nasarawa and Plateau States, Engr. Abdulahi Sule and Simon Lalong as well as the chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists, FCT Council, Comrade Emmanuel Ogbeche are expected to grace the occasion where they will also be conferred with awards by ISDEVCOM.

The chairman of the Local Organising Committee (LOC) of the 4th International Conference on Communication and Development in Africa, Mr. Odoh Diego Okenyodo in a statement made the disclosure on Monday.

According to the statement, the National Identity Management Commission (NIMC) which is partnering with ISDECOM to host the conference has its Director General / CEO, Engr. Aliyu Abubakar Aziz billed to deliver the keynote speech while the Secretary to the Government of Nigeria, Mr Boss Mustapha shall be the Special Guest of Honour.

Shedding more light on the significance of the awards at the conference, the Executive Director of ISDEVCOM, Prof. Emmanuel S. Dandaura explained that “The awards are part of our 5th anniversary celebrations as an Institute dedicated to the promotion of dialogue between the academia and the society for national development. We want to acknowledge the roles played by pioneer researchers, theorists, practitioners and different stakeholders in communicating development.”

He disclosed further thus: “The honourees are Nasarawa State Governor, Engr Abdullahi A. Sule; Plateau State Governor, H.E. Simon Bako Lalong; founder of the Ahmadu Bello University Zaria Centre of Excellence on Development Communication, Prof. Ogah Steve Abah; Director General of the Nigeria Television Authority, Mal. Salihu Adbulhamid Dembos; former Director General of NTA, Professor Tonnie Iredia; former Vice Chancellor of NSUK, Prof. Mohammed Akaro Mainoma; and the Director General, Sheda Science and Technology Complex, Prof. P.C. Onyenekwe.

“Other honourees are Executive Director of YIAGA Africa, Mr. Samson Itodo, Center for Communication and Social Impact (CCSI), Mrs. Babafunke Fagbemi, Executive Director of African Radio Drama Association (ARDA), Mrs Data Phido; Country Coordinator of the Open Forum on Agricultural Biotechnology (OFAB) in Africa, Nigeria Chapter, Dr (Mrs) Rose Gidado; and Chief James Ume (Ike Abam Onyerubi), Unubiko Foundation Abuja.

“Institutional recognition for excellence in development communication go to ActionAid Nigeria and the Lagos-based Development Communication Network.

“Others to receive the awards include Chairman of the Plateau State Health Insurance Scheme, Dr. Fabong Jemchang Yildam; Chairman NUJ Abuja Council, Emmanuel Ogbeche; Per Second News, Mr Femi Soneye; National Biotechnology Development Agency, Professor Maxwell Gidado, SAN, and the first Bassa PhD holder who is the Aguma of Turunku, Toto LGA, HRH Dr. David Tukura.

In his own remark, the Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. Suleiman Bala Mohammed said he is very proud of what the Institute of Strategic and Development Communication has achieved in a short span of 5 years, one of which is organizing the Conference on Communication and Development in Africa.

“I am glad that this conference has become a veritable gathering of diverse experts from the academia and practitioners in development communication, alongside policy makers, civil society organizations, key government institutions and the media, and this edition is throwing light on how data has been a driver of strategic engagement for development” the Vice Chancellor stated.

ISDEVCOM is credited with championing curriculum development in Science Communication in Africa, partnering with Sci-Dev of London and funded by Robert Bosch Stiftung of Germany. ISDEVCOM popularized Science Communication in Nigerian universities and also mentored the Makarere University of Uganda as well as other institutions internationally.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *