By Friday Idachaba, Lokoja.

Senator Dino Melaye, former senator representing Kogi West Senatorial District has been declared winner of the Kogi State Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primary having polled 313 votes to defeat other contestants in the race.

Chairman, PDP primary Election committee, former Governor of Kaduna State, Ahmed Makarfi announced the results on Sunday at end of the indirect primary held in Lokoja.

Melaye polled 313 votes to defeat his closest rival, Jabiru Usman who polled 127 votes while Ilona Idoko Kingsley scored 124 votes as former Deputy Governor of the state, Arch. Yomi Awoniyi scored 77 votes.

Engr Musa Wada, the party’s governorship candidate in the 2019 Governorship Election scored 56 votes.

Ojaja Gideon Enama got five (5) votes while Olufemi Olarewaju scored two (2) votes and the total Void Votes were six (6).

With the declaration of Sen. Melaye as winner of the PDP primary election, the former senator would have to contend with Usman Ododo of the APC, Hon. Leke Abejide of ADC, Dr Julius Elukpo of ADP and many others come November 11, 2023. (Ends)

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *